The 35th Annual WBDC Country Showdown

Showdown2016 WEB


May 9, 2016

Contact: Brian Schwenk ( )

(812) 634-9232

“Acts Announced for the 35TH Annual WBDC Country Showdown”

          (Jasper) – Anticipation and excitement is higher than ever as aspiring country music artists prepare for the 35th Annual WBDC Country Showdown, held at the Jasper Arts Center on Thursday, June 9th at 6:30pm E.S.T.  Thirteen acts from across the region are performing this year, with five returning and eight making their Showdown debut.  Radio station WBDC is proud to once again be hosting the country music talent search, with a chance for a local artist to win over $1,000 in cash and prizes. Tickets will be $5 at the door.

The Jasper Arts Center will provide the backdrop to feature the best and brightest talent in our area.  The amazing band ‘Haywire’ returns as well, entertaining the crowd, and backing all of the talented performers. The acts taking the stage in this year’s Showdown are:

Modern Day Outlaws of Celestine, IN

Robert Ruetman of Celestine, IN

Robert Stutsman of Huntingburg, IN

Julie Garcia and Amy Brewster of Jasper, IN

Brooke Lawalin of Tell City, IN

Rodney Watts of Petersburg, IN

Boo Polley of Huntingburg, IN

Luke and Jessi of Whites Creek, TN

Amy Jo Madden and the M.A.D. Women Band of Southern IN

Kira Cantu and Band of Jasper, IN

Cody Ikerd of Bedford, IN

Riegle Family Band of Muncie, IN

Carl Sommer of Derby, IN

Now in its 35th year, the WBDC Country Showdown finds the most promising country music talent in the area, giving these performers a chance to be named “Best New Act in 101 Country.”  Winners compete for a $1,000 cash prize for first place, $250 for second place, and $100 for third place.  The top three finishers will receive beautifully engraved trophies as well.  

Our 2015 WBDC Country Showdown winner....David Wayne of Huntingburg!

Our 2015 WBDC Country Showdown winner….David Wayne of Huntingburg!


Comments are closed.