CMT Artist of the Year Honorees Announced – Plus, How to Watch the Show

Five of country music’s biggest and brightest stars will receive the prestigious CMT Artist of the Year title. Carly Pearce, Cody Johnson, Kane Brown, Luke Combs, and Walker Hayes, who have all had gigantic leaps in their respective careers, are the 2022 recipients. The best part is you can watch the entire ceremony, which will feature musical tributes and collaborations, on Friday, October 14, 9p/8c on CMT 

Let’s talk about this year’s honorees: 

Carly Pearce – The Kentucky native is rightfully stepping into her place as one of country music’s leading females. You’ve heard her latest “What I Didn’t Do” on 101 Country WBDC and listeners are loving it! Her nod to tradition and exemplary writing made 29: Written in Stone a critic and fan favorite album. 

Cody Johnson – And speaking of carrying the country flame, no one does it more passionately than Cody Johnson. “Til You Can’t” is one of our most-requested songs and he continues his stride at radio with the title track of his latest double album Human. 

Kane Brown – He continues to up his game and with an upcoming world tour, Kane Brown is so deserving of this title. “Like I Love Country Music” is one of the catchiest and fastest climbing singles of his career, and his must-listen to duet “Thank God” featuring his wife Katelyn is already topping download charts. 

Luke Combs – Stadium shows and another chart-topping album are pinnacles in a year where Luke Combs finds himself as the reigning CMA Entertainer of the Year. And now he’s set to take his kind of country to Australia, Ireland, and more next year during his first world tour.  

Walker Hayes – One of the most talked about hitmakers in recent years, Walker Hayes ranks among the top when it comes to airplay and streaming in multi-genres. He even scored his first Grammy nomination this year!  

Be sure to check back for more performer announcements! Use the hashtag ##CMTAOTY and follow CMT on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Tik Tok.  


Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.