Current track



2023 CMT Music Award Nominations Announced

Written by on March 8, 2023

Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini are set to host this year’s CMT Music Awards live from Austin, Texas! It all happens on April 2, 2023, at the Moody Center – wanna go? Tickets are available here.

Nominations were just announced today and Lainey Wilson, who was named the CMT Breakthrough Artist of the Year during last fall’s CMT Artist of the Year, leads the pack with four! Cody Johnson, Jelly Roll, and Kane Brown each received an incredible three nods.  

And the 2023 CMT Music Award nominees are…

Video of the Year: 

  • Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark & Pillbox Patti – “Bonfire At Tina’s” 
  • Blake Shelton – “No Body” 
  • Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart” 
  • Cody Johnson – “Human” 
  • Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot” 
  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”
  • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”
  • Jimmie Allen – “Down Home”
  • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts”
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST”
  • Little Big Town – “Rich Man”
  • Luke Bryan – “Country On”
  • Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make”
  • Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”
  • Walker Hayes – “AA” 

Female Video of the Year: 

  • Carly Pearce – “What He Didn’t Do” 
  • Carrie Underwood – “Ghost Story” 
  • Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up” 
  • Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST” 
  • Lainey Wilson – “Heart Like A Truck” 
  • Maren Morris – “Humble Quest” 
  • Miranda Lambert – “Actin’ Up” 

Male Video of the Year: 

  • Bailey Zimmerman – “Rock and A Hard Place” 
  • Cody Johnson – “Human” 
  • Cole Swindell – “She Had Me At Heads Carolina” 
  • Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner” 
  • Kane Brown – “Like I Love Country Music” 
  • Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make” 
  • Morgan Wallen – “Wasted On You” 

 Group/Duo Video of the Year: 

  • Dan + Shay – “You (Performance Video)” 
  • Lady A – “Summer State Of Mind” 
  • Little Big Town – “Hell Yeah” 
  • Parmalee – “Take My Name” 
  • The War And Treaty – “That’s How Love Is Made” 
  • Zac Brown Band – “Out In The Middle” 

Breakthrough Female Video of the Year: 

  • Avery Anna – “Narcissist” 
  • Kylie Morgan – “If He Wanted To He Would” 
  • MacKenzie Porter – “Pickup” 
  • Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange” 
  • Morgan Wade  – “Wilder Days” 
  • Tiera Kennedy – “Found It In You” 

Breakthrough Male Video of the Year: 

  • Bailey Zimmerman – “Fall In Love” 
  • Corey Kent – “Wild as Her” 
  • Drake Milligan – “Sounds Like Something I’d Do” 
  • Jackson Dean – “Don’t Come Lookin’” 
  • Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner” 
  • Nate Smith – “Whiskey On You” 

 Collaborative Video of the Year: 

  • Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot” 
  • HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck” 
  • Ingrid Andress with Sam Hunt – “Wishful Drinking” 
  • Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God” 
  • Midland feat. Jon Pardi – “Longneck Way To Go” 
  • Russell Dickerson feat. Jake Scott – “She Likes It” 
  • Thomas Rhett & Katy Perry – “Where We Started” 

 CMT Performance of the Year: 

  • Black Pumas & Mickey Guyton – “Colors” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards) 
  • Chris Stapleton – “Whenever You Come Around” (from CMT Giants: Vince Gill) 
  • Cody Johnson – “‘Til You Can’t” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards) 
  • Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson – “Never Say Never” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)  
  • Darius Rucker – “Let Her Cry” (from CMT Storytellers) 
  • Emmy Russell & Lukas Nelson – “Lay Me Down” (from Coal Miner’s Daughter: A Celebration of the Life & Music of Loretta Lynn) 
  • Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards) 
  • LeAnn Rimes with Ashley McBryde & Carly Pearce – “One Way Ticket” (from CMT Crossroads: LeAnn Rimes & Friends) 
  • The Judds – “Love Can Build A Bridge” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards) 
  • Wynonna Judd & Brandi Carlile – “The Rose” (from Naomi Judd: A River of Time Celebration) 

CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year: 

  • Charley Crockett – “Time of the Cottonwood Trees“ (from CMT Campfire Sessions) 
  • Chris Young – “Gettin’ You Home” (from CMT Stages) 
  • Ingrid Andress – “Wishful Drinking” (from CMT Studio Sessions)  
  • Jelly Roll – “Son of A Sinner” (from CMT All Access) 
  • Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange” (from CMT Viral To Verified)  
  • Scotty McCreery – “Damn Strait” (from CMT Campfire Sessions) 

Vote for your favorites here! 

How to Watch the 2023 CMT Music Awards 

  • The show takes place Sunday, April 2, 2023. 
  • You can watch live on CBS at 8:00 PM ET on CBS   
  • Stream it live and on demand on Paramount+ 

Performers and presenters will be announced soon! 101 Country WBDC will have all the latest on the 2023 CMT Music Awards, so check back often!  

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track